Monday, December 6, 2010

Blog 75


           Well I am supposed to be writing a letter to anyone taking this class next quarter. The class seems pretty bad at first but it really isn’t as bad as it seems. This class has a lot to do with sci-fi. Don’t worry if you don’t like sci-fi because I don’t either but I actually kind of liked it during the quarter. The shows really aren’t that bad and I much rather watch the sci-fi than have to read some boring book that I have no interest in. Blogging at first sounds pretty bad too. 75 blogs sounds like a lot of work but once you get used to it, it doesn’t seem like much. You do get to learn a lot about your classmates. I think that is what I liked the best about the blogs. Although I did hate having to write a blog on Saturday and Sunday. Those are school day and I don’t think we should have to do them then. The blogs did also improve my writing somewhat. The two papers you are going to write aren’t too bad. The AP paper is definitely harder than the CP paper. The CP paper seems to be a lot more open and it is just easier to write. The class was pretty tough but I could tell that my writing was much improved from the beginning of the quarter compared to the end. It is a lot of work but you will get a lot out of it if you are willing to work hard.

Sunday, December 5, 2010

Blog 74


        Well I guess this blog is supposed to be about how I feel about sci-fi now compared to when we started the class. I guess I could say I don’t mind it as much as I did before we started the class. I have never really been into sci-fi and I never watched it before the class started. Since we had to watch all of those shows, I guess I don’t mind it as much. I still will probably never watch it even now that the class is over. I didn’t mind it but I still prefer pretty much all other genres. I liked some other the stuff that we watched but it is still not for me. I don’t know why but I just have never really enjoyed sci-fi. However, there are aspects of the sic-fi shows that we watched. I did like all of the action in the shows and some of the shows had some pretty interesting story lines. I liked Caprica and it seemed to be a kind of mystery.  I liked the story line of that show and it just didn’t seem like as much of a sci-fi to me. There we some futuristic things in the show but it wasn’t over the top like some shows. I didn’t mind Firefly but I thought that living on a spaceship was so stupid. That is what I don’t like about sci-fi. The whole spaceship idea is just really stupid to me. Well I finally made it to 250 words. Back to studying!

Saturday, December 4, 2010

73

           Well I haven’t done much other than study today. I have been studying most of the day and now I am just relaxing by watching the Nebraska, Oklahoma game. I also got an update about my friend that was in the car accident. Her surgery went well yesterday but unfortunately she is permanently paralyzed from the waist down. That is really sad but it actually could have been worse. And thanks to all of you that have kept her in your thoughts and prayers. Well I guess this is our last free blog. I am kind of sad that this class is coming to an end. I didn’t like the class but I liked the people in it.  I though that we had a pretty good class and I hope I get to see you guys around sometime. Well I’m not sure what else to talk about. I was pretty disappointed that pretty much all the snow missed us today. The snow is the only good thing about the cold. That is okay, as long as it snows for Christmas. It just doesn’t seem like Christmas without snow and it hasn’t snowed on Christmas for several years. I am really looking forward to Christmas. On Christmas Eve my family and my grandparents and my uncle on my mom’s side go to our church’s Christmas Eve service. The Christmas Eve service is really cool and I love going every year. Then after we go to that we go to Spaghetti Warehouse. I don’t know if anyone else has been there but it is pretty good and my grandparents always like to go there. Well that’s my 250 words! Time to do a little more studying during half time.

Friday, December 3, 2010

Blog 72

          Well I have been studying for my exams and I thought it was time to take a break and do my blog. Well yesterday I found out that one of my friends from high school was in a serious car accident. She is a senior this year and we really weren’t that close of friends, but I come from a school where everyone knows everyone and everyone is friends with everyone. I don’t know all the detail but I know she rolled her car several time and is in serious condition. She is stable but she is paralyzed. They don’t know if it is going to be permanent or not and she had surgery earlier today. I just ask everyone to just say a quick prayer for her. It is just really scary to think about. Everyone at my high school is close and it is really cool to see how the entire school pulls together. Today everyone, including me wore green for her. It is a really scary thing and I hope she will fully recover. You never think it is going to happen to someone you know but it always can. My freshman year we had one of our seniors was killed in a car accident and her sister is in my grade and we are pretty good friends. That was the only other time something this serious has happened at my high school. It was a really sad thing but it was great how our whole school came together in their support. Please just keep her in your prayers and good luck everyone on their exams!

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Blog 71

           Today in class we watched Caprica and I thought it was pretty interesting. I actually didn’t think that it was that bad. At first I was somewhat confused about what was going on but they cleared it up pretty well towards the end. However, I still don’t understand why they were on the train and why that he had a bomb strapped to him. Maybe w found out why and I didn’t catch it or we didn’t get to the part that revealed that. I think that I might have liked this show a little better than BSG. It seemed to be a little less futuristic. It seemed to be more like today and it didn’t remind me of Star Trek. There were several things in the episode that confused me but I think that might have had something to do with not seeing the whole episode. I think I would probably have liked this show better than Firefly. I would have liked to watch this show instead of Firefly. It just didn’t seem to be a typical sci-fi. I can’t remember any of the names but it was pretty lucky that the girl did not get on that train. If she would have she would be dead too. I wonder if something ends up happening to her in a later episode or something. I kind of wish we could have seen the whole episode because I thought it was pretty interesting and it probably wouldn’t have been as confusing for me. Well that’s my 250 words.

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Blog 70

           Well it snowed today and it is actually still snowing right now. I hate the cold but I love the snow. And we are supposed to get more snow in Saturday and Sunday so I am pretty excited for that. Well I managed to finish my webwork today. I also just finished my paper homework, which I kind of bsed. I also went to the webwork project session and I got all of that done. I got all of the webwork projects done. That is really nice because that is 40 points of extra credit. Well I am watching the Michigan State, Duke game. I hate Duke with a passion so I am hoping Michigan State can pull out with the win. It has been a pretty good game so far. It is also a good day because the Big 10 won their second ACC Big 10 challenge. That is pretty sweet. I really hate Duke so much and another good reason for them to lose is that would move Ohio State up to number 1. That would be sweet to be number 1 in basketball and 6th in football. Well tomorrow is the last day of English class. I am kind of glad but it kind of sucks too because I like the people in my class. I think we have a pretty good class and that is the worst part of class being over. However it will be so nice to have a month off of school. School has been pretty stressful and it is going to be so nice to have some time off.

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Blog 69

           Well I just finished watching the Ohio State basketball game. They beat Florida State but I didn’t think they played all that well. Florida State is an okay team but I felt like we could have beaten them by more. I hate how Thadd Matta never subs in players. OSU has at least 3 players that can come off the bench and do just fine in the game. In the second half he only subbed one player in the entire time. We struggled in the second half and I think that a sub or two would have been useful. Like 3 player ended up playing the entire game. I know there are TV timeouts but they need a break. By the end of the game they are so tired that they start to make stupid mistakes. OSU has one of the most talented teams this year but it seems like he isn’t using all of them to their potential. I guess that is okay because they won. They are ranked second and it seems weird that our basketball team is ranked higher than the football team. OSU has always been known as a football school but I guess we are moving to a football and basketball school. That is a good thing but it just seems weird that they are ranked higher than the football team. I have been trying to work on the webwork but I hate them so bad. I only have nine 7 problems left but they are all hard problems. I am going to have to find some help on the rest of it. I am so glad this is the last webwork. They are a waste of my time!

Monday, November 29, 2010

Blog 68

         Well today was a pretty boring one. Nothing much went on at all. It was just a typical Monday. I went to watch House tonight but it wasn’t a new episode. That was a disappointment but it gave me some extra time to get some work done. Well I don’t really know what to talk about. Well it is time that the football season is winding down. Now that football season is coming to an end I will end up going to a lot of movies. During football season I never go to the movies. My friends and I always watch the football games on the weekend so I never get the chance to get to the movies. I love watching football and I could do it all day.  But once bowl season is over it will be nice to get to go to the movies again. I pretty much like all types of movies and it is probably one of my favorite things to do during the winter. I am also pretty excited for Christmas. I can’t believe it is under a month away. It seems like we just had Christmas but it is that time again. It will be so nice to have almost a month break from school. School is a lot more stressful than high school and it will be nice to be able to just relax for a while. This quarter has gone by so fast but I guess that is a good thing. Everyone is always saying that college goes by even faster than high school.

Sunday, November 28, 2010

Blog 67

          Well Thanksgiving Break went by so fast. It seems like it just started yesterday and it is already over. School seems like it goes really fast and our breaks seem like they go even faster. But I guess we only have about a week and a half until Christmas break. I cannot wait until Christmas break. However, I am not looking forward to the next week and a half. Finals are going to suck! I hope I can motivate myself to study throughout the week instead of craming right before. I am not too worried about my exams except for my Math exam. There is so much to remember and I know it is going to be really hard. Plus my math exam is at 7 am. I am going to be half asleep for the exam. The good thing is that I only have an exam on Monday and Wednesday.  My other exam is for Engineering 100 is online so I won’t have to study for that one. At least they are spread out a little so I can focus on one at a time. I plan to study all week and weekend for my Math exam and then cram on Monday and Tuesday for my exam on Wednesday. My economics exam is on Wednesday and that is pretty easy for me so I am not as worried about that. I think I will be able to get a good grade on that exam but just studying those two days. The best part of English is that we don’t have an exam! Well that’s my 250 words.

Saturday, November 27, 2010

Blog 66


            Well I have been completely lazy and have done no school work so far for school. I have a lot of work to do but I just it is break and I just haven’t had the motivation to do any of it. So I decided to come home early tonight and get some of it done. I wish that I had done some work earlier this week so I wouldn’t have to worry about it but of course that doesn’t happen. Well the Michigan game today was awesome. It felt so good to beat up on Michigan again. There was a Michigan fan in front of us and all of us game him so much crap during the game. It was fun to talk some smack. I thought that the refs were pretty bad. All the unsportsmanlike penalties after we scored touchdowns were ridiculous. Nike man gloves for OSU that makes the block O when they put their hands together and the refs flagged them for it several times. That is crap because Alabama did the same thing in the National Championship and Nike man the gloves for them to wear. They didn’t do anything wrong and I thought that was crap. They also said on TV that the head ref is actually from Michigan so maybe that had something to do with it haha. But it felt really good to beat up on Michigan and OSU will be moving up in the standings with Boise State and LSU losing. I also really liked OSU’s jerseys today. I thought they were pretty cool. Well 66 blogs down, 9 to go!

Friday, November 26, 2010

Blog 65

              I am so tired right now. In the evening I went over to one of my friend’s house to watch the Bengal lose, again. I didn’t get home until about 1 and I didn’t go to be until 2:30. Then I had t get up at 4:30 because I went to Best Buy this morning for their black Friday sale. I got an LED TV for my room and some presents for my family. Even though you have to get up really early it is worth it because you save a lot of money on Christmas presents. So I got home at about 7 and could fall asleep again. So I just watched the early morning shows like Saved by the Bell and of course Sports Center. Saved by the Bell is a great show but I never see it much because it is on so early in the morning. So I watched some football and then I went to the OSU basketball game with my friend and his brother. My friend’s dad has club seat so the seats are really good. We didn’t play the greatest but we still won by a lot and all the seniors from the football team were honored during half time. Then after that we went back to his house and some other s came over and we watched the Oregon game and played some Duty. Now I am home and I can barely stay awake. Now I just need to get some sleep so I have plenty of energy for my first OSU Michigan game!!

Thursday, November 25, 2010

Blog 64

            Well we are in between eating and playing games so I decided to write my blog now. It was really nice to eat some home cooked food and I am so full. My grandma makes the best turkey and I ate so much. All the food is homemade and it is all so good. So far we just ate and been looking through the ads but now is about the time all the games come out. We all get pretty competitive and it is a good time. We pretty much play all kinds of games. We will end up playing games the rest of the night and we always heat up all the food later for dinner too. I don’t know why we do because we are all still full from lunch but we still eat anyway. I am really looking forward to the Michigan game on Saturday. I have been to a lot of OSU football games but I have never been to a Michigan game. I am really looking forward to it and I am looking forward to seeing the throwback jerseys. I guess that they are going to have red helmets too. I think that they will be pretty cool. I think that Michigan should wear throwbacks too but it is pretty cool now. I think the throwbacks are cool and that they should do that every Michigan game. Well that’s my 250 words. Everyone enjoy the rest of their Thanksgiving and the rest of break.

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Blog 63

            It was really nice to get to see some of my friends from high school today. I skipped my second class today so I could hang out with some of my old friends. But now it is time for Turkey day. Everyone is coming over to our house tomorrow for Thanksgiving and I am really excited for the food and that everyone is coming over. The food is all so good and I am probably going to gain 5 pounds tomorrow. Then after we eat it is time for the games to begin. We all pretty much play about any game and it is always a good time. We always like to pay Euchre and that and pretty much all games get pretty intense. We all always get a little over competitive but that is all part of the fun. I am also looking forward to being able to sleep in tomorrow. This will be the first time in about 2 weeks I will be able to sleep in and catch up on some sleep. I will probably end up taking a nap sometime tomorrow too. Then on Friday night I think I am going to the OSU basketball game. One of my friend’s dad has season tickets in club level. We aren’t sure if we are going for sure or not but I am hoping so. The basketball team is looking really good so far and they have been fun to watch. Well that’s my 250 words. Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Blog 62


             Well today we finished watching BSG. Overall it was pretty good I thought. I don’t really like sci-fi all that much but once I got into it, it wasn’t that bad. I thought that it was an interesting story line. I was kind of confused after watching it last week but I thought that it all came together today. At the beginning I thought it was pretty noble of that guy to stay behind so another civilian could be rescued. There was a lot of though decisions to be made in the show and it made me wonder what would happen if we had to make those decisions in real life. In real life would they make the same decisions or would there be other options. I am sure they make hard decisions but I they haven’t had to make decisions that could cost all of civilization. I thought that the graphics were really good and I thought the fighting scenes were kind of cool. I just thought it was interesting overall. I thought that this show would suck at first but it turned out pretty good. It reminded me of Firefly but in Firefly there wasn’t a war going on. Firefly seemed to be a low budget show and BSG seemed like it had a little more funding. The graphics were so much better and everything seemed a little more modern than Firefly. Firefly seemed like more of a western and BSG just seem like it was more like today’s time. I think BSG was pretty good and I ended up enjoying it even though I am not a big fan of sci-fi.

Monday, November 22, 2010

Blog 61

          Well I just finished watching House. Today’s show was pretty good and I thought it was pretty funny too. I don’t really have much to do this week so I didn’t do any homework. I did finish like 4 problems on the webwork so I guess I did a little something. I am really tired so I am going to try to go to bed pretty soon. I am giving blood tomorrow morning and they say it is important to get a good night sleep before. And you are supposed to have a good breakfast too so I am going to get up a little early tomorrow and eat something. I don’t eat breakfast a lot of the time and if I do I just grab a granola bar or something. I know they say breakfast is the most important meal of the day but I always want to sleep in as late as possible so I don’t really get a chance to eat in the morning. On the weekends and during the summer I always eat something for breakfast because I have time to. Wow this blog is terrible. I just never know what to write about anymore and this blog is really bad. Well we only have two more days until break but I am skipping my 2nd class on Wednesday so I can go home earlier. I have never skipped class before and it is something I don’t want to do often but our teacher said that it is just going to be a q and a session because so many people will be gone. Well my randomness has finally put me over 250 words!

Sunday, November 21, 2010

Blog 60

             I am so glad that we have a short week of school this week. I think this was the first Sunday in a long time that I haven’t have a million things to do for school. Today was really relaxing and I was hoping to get some schoolwork done but that didn’t happen. It was nice to just take a day off. This will be a relaxing week but that won’t happen after this week with finals coming up. I am freshman so I have obviously never been through a final and I am not looking forward to it. But I guess that is a little ways down the road. I am hoping that all my classes will be kind of laid back but they probably won’t. Well I guess English class will be because we are just watching BSG. That will be goof because I am giving blood before class on Tuesday. My high school always had two blood drives a year and I always gave blood because I got to miss class. I would give blood in the morning and just stay down there all day. The teacher that ran it liked me so he never made me go back to class. So I would stay at the drive and eat their food and play cards all day. Well I am really running out of topics for my blogs. Well I guess we only have 15 left to do so I guess I won’t need too many more ideas. Well that put me over 250 words so I am done for the day.

Saturday, November 20, 2010

Blog 59

               Well today was a pretty exciting day. The Ohio State football game was really exciting. I was a little nervous but they pulled it out like normal. Although I was pretty angry when Posey dropped that wide open TD pass. I could not believe that he dropped it but it worked out for the best I guess. It was good that they could run some more time off the clock but it seemed like our hopes of winning that game when down the drain when he dropped that pass. We also have a double header with OSU sports tonight. The basketball team also had a game. They played some terrible team so it wasn’t that good of a game but it was fun to see the freshmen get some playing time. We switched between the OSU basketball game and some of the football games so we didn’t see the whole thing. They looked really good tonight and I think that OSU might be the best team in college basketball this year. They have so many good players ready to play. I think that the combination of the seniors and freshman, we will have a great season this year. I think we are the best team this year and it would be great to win a National Championship in basketball. But that’s is a long way down the road. I don’t think that OSU has ever won National Championship in basketball or either maybe they did before my time. I don’t know but it would be great to see them win one.  Well that is my 250 words!

Friday, November 19, 2010

Blog 58

            I am so glad for the weekend. I got no sleep all week and it will be nice to be able to catch up on some sleep. I think I am going to sign up for the blood battle with Michigan. I have given blood like 5 or 6 times now so I don’t mind it as much. I think it would be cool to beat Michigan in another category. I heard today that we went down by 4% or something like that but who knows if that is true or not. I think that the battle with Michigan will compel more people to give blood. I know a lot of people are scared of giving blood but it really isn’t that bad. You feel a little pinch when the needle goes in but other than that it doesn’t hurt at all. Actually I think that the finger prick is probably the worst part! Although whenever I give blood they always have to lay me down. Right after they stick the needle in I feel a little light headed so they lay me down. Then about a minute later I am fine and then the same thing happens when they pull the needle out. I am fine during the middle of it but its just when they put the needle in and take it out. I don’t what it is but it happens every time. If you have never given blood before then you should try it out. The nurses are always really nice and if you ever feel light headed or anything they know what to do. I was really nervous my first time and it seemed really bad, but I knew that was just because of my nerves. Now it isn’t as big of a deal anymore. But if you are giving blood for the first time take a friend with you if you are nervous. Well that’s my 250 words.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Blog 57

            Well today in class we watched Battlestar Galactica (sp?). I have heard of the name of the show before but I never have seen an episode before or heard anything about it. It kind of seems like sci-fi military show or something like that. I kind of reminded me of Firefly. It was kind of like that but in BSG there was a lot of fighting going on. I watched it the whole time but I didn’t exactly pay that close of attention to it. I know that robot girl did something that started a war or I’m assuming that’s what happened. I’m not exactly into shows like this so it is kind of hard for me to pay attention. If a show doesn’t really interest me then my mind seems to kind of drift off. I didn’t really like the show today but I started off hating Firefly but the more Firefly I watched I started not minding it. This isn’t the exact same thing though. This kind of reminds me of Star Trek and I hate that show. I know a lot of people like shows like BSG but I am not one of those people. I don’t know why but I just have never liked those kinds of shows and movies. I like just about all types of movies except for sci-fi movies like this one. Well this one was a TV show but it’s the same idea. Hopefully I can pay a little more attention on Tuesday but that my 250 words so I am all done.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Blog 56


            Well I had a very productive day today! I did almost the entire webwork today, an engineering assignment, the English memo, and my CP paper. And its only 10:30! I normally have a lot to do because I am a terrible procrastinator but that wasn’t really the case this time. I had a math exam on Monday so I spent most of my weekend studying and not doing my homework. Although I could have done more yesterday but with all the excitement of the bomb threat and the OSU basketball game, I didn’t get much done. It feels good to get a lot done and some of it is done a little early. Lately I have been making a to do list on my computer to help me keep track of everything, and I have everything on it for the week checked off! I am really glad that I will have a little time to relax the rest of the week. But I do still need to do the ARP revisions so I guess I’m not completely free just yet. I’m not really sure what else to talk about. The summary of my day didn’t quite take 250 words. I guess I can talk about how excited I am for Thanksgiving Break! Thanksgiving is only a week away. I cannot wait for all the home cooked food and especially my grandma’s turkey. I don’t know what she does but her turkey cannot be matched. I better make sure I work out extra hard at the RPAC next week because there is going to be a lot of eating going on Thursday.

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Blog 55

             Well today was filled with excitement! It all started with the bomb threats at school. I was hoping that they would cancel class but that didn’t happen. I am just glad that they didn’t find anything and everything will be back to normal tomorrow. Today was also exciting because the Ohio State basketball team played Florida earlier this evening. It was a pretty close game for a while but Ohio State ended up winning by like 20. OSU looked pretty good today and I hope they can keep it up throughout the season. They are ranked 5th right now so I have pretty high hopes for them. However, the Big 10 is really tough this year and there are a lot of Big 10 basketball teams in the top 25 this year. Michigan State is ranked 2nd so the Big 10 has two teams in the top 5. It will be a hard year in the Big 10 but hopefully we can come out on top. Today was also good because I did pretty well on my math exam we took yesterday. I got an 84 on it and that has been the high math midterm grade I have gotten this year. Last week I mostly focused on studying for the midterm so I am kind of behind on the Webwork but hopefully I can get it all done by tomorrow. The webwork this week seems a lot harder to me than the past couple of weeks. I need to find a group to work on it with because that makes it a lot easier. Well that’s 250 words!

Monday, November 15, 2010

Blog 54


             Well I just finished watching the new episode of House. It was pretty good and it was an interesting show today. House is probably one of my favorite shows. I was kind of weird how I started watching House. I was just flipping through the channels when it first came out and I just started watching it and I have been watching it ever since. I usually don’t like shows like it but for some reason I was hooked on House after the first time I watched it. I like it so much because of the mystery of it and it is pretty funny at the same time. I think I kind of liked the show better when his original staff was working for him.  I guess the show wouldn’t be as good if it was the same thing every show. I think changing up his staff helps make it more interesting. Without changing his staff, I think people would have gotten bored with the show. Well I am not really sure what else to talk about. What kind of TV shows does everyone else like to watch? I pretty much like any show that is funny. I watch TBS a lot. I pretty much like all the shows that the air but some of them that I don’t like. I also like the watch the Big Bang Theory. I think all of Sheldon’s little things that he does is really funny. The Office is another one of the shows that I like. It is really stupid but it is funny at the same time. I love all the pranks that they play on Dwight. Well that’s my 250 words!

Sunday, November 14, 2010

Blog 53

           Well today was pretty boring compared to yesterday. The Ohio State game was so exciting yesterday but the Bengal’s game was awful again today. The Bengals managed to lose again and drop to 2-7. I am so sick of Carson Palmer. He went from being one of the best QBs in the NFL to the worst. He has so many good receivers this year but he isn’t doing any better with them. I don’t really care as much about the NFL but I do like the Bengals. They were supposed to be really good this year so they have disappointed me this year. I kind of watched the Bengal’s game and studied for my math exam at the same time. I studied a lot today and I think I am ready for the exam tomorrow. Hopefully I am as prepared as I think I am. Well I am looking forward to Tuesday because OSU plays Florida in basketball. It should be a good game and hopefully the Bucks will come out with a win.  I saw the highlights from their game Friday and they looked really good. However, they were playing some terrible team but they still looked good for their first game of the season. I am sure they will be ready to go for the Florida game. I do not like Florida at all so anytime they lose makes me happy. I was really glad they lost to South Carolina yesterday. I like to see Florida have a bad year like they are this year in football. Well that is my 250 words for the day.

Saturday, November 13, 2010

Blog 52


             The Ohio State game today was crazy! They didn’t play very well in the first half but they ended up dominating the 2nd half. It was so loud in the 2nd half. I think today’s game was even crazier than the Miami game. It is always better when the game is exciting and that’s what today’s game was. Wisconsin scored 83 points today, which is a really crazy score for a football game. Too bad Iowa lost today because they are going to drop pretty far in the polls for next week’s game. That’s okay I guess. Then the weekend after that is Michigan week! I have been to so many Ohio State football games but I have never been to an Ohio State Michigan game. It will be my first Ohio State Michigan game and I am already excited for it. I love to see Ohio State walk all over Michigan and I hope that happens this year too. I know close games are more exciting blowing out Michigan is just as exciting. Last year Ohio State wore those throw back jerseys and they are supposed to do that again this year. I though the throwbacks last year were pretty cool so hopefully this year’s will be cool too. I am sure they will be. That will be a great week. Thanksgiving on Thursday and the Ohio State Michigan game on Saturday. That will be a really fun week and I am looking forward to it. Well my rambling has finally reached 250 words!

Friday, November 12, 2010

Blog 51


            Today was a really busy day and I am glad it is over. I am looking forward to the OSU game tomorrow and College Game day is going to be there this week too. It is supposed to be pretty warm for the game tomorrow too. Today Ohio State had their first basketball game of the season. I cannot believe basketball is starting already. It seems like football season just started. I thought that high school went fast but now I am seeing that college goes even faster. The basketball team won by a lot and I am pretty excited about OSU basketball this year. They are ranked 5th and they are supposed to be pretty good this year. I went to several Northland tournament games last year and JD Weatherspoon and Jared Sullenger are amazing athletes. I am really glad they both came to OSU. I am really glad that they finally moved the student section to the sides. I think it will make the atmosphere a lot better. I am pretty disappointed I didn’t get basketball tickets. I wanted to get them but they were sold out within like 20 minutes so I didn’t get any. I was pretty disappointed but I guess I can just watch them on TV but I do hope I get to go to at least one game this year. I went to like 5 games last year and it was a lot of fun. I just hope I get to go to a couple games this year too.

Thursday, November 11, 2010

Blog 50


            Having today off was so nice and much needed. I finally got to sleep in for the first time in like 2 weeks. It was so nice to not have to get out of bed until I was good and ready. Today was really relaxing and I pretty much got no schoolwork done. I decided that is okay because I actually got a lot of work done yesterday. So I decided it was okay to just take the day off. Tomorrow after my math class my brother and I are going to head to the RPAC and play a little racquetball. I don’t know if anyone else has played but it is a lot of fun. If anyone is looking for something fun to do then racquetball would be a good thing to try out. I have never played before school started this year and it is pretty easy to get used to. And believe it or not, it is actually a pretty good workout too. Although the only bad part about racquetball is sometimes the ball hits you and it hurts so bad. The ball is going so fast and it stings like crazy when you get hit. It also leaves a pretty nice welt too haha. Well hopefully everyone had a good day off. It was really warm today and it is supposed to hit 70 tomorrow. I wish the weather would just stay like this! There is a chance for rain on Saturday but I just hope it holds off until the Ohio State game is over. It will be really nice to be able to go to an OSU football game in Novemeber and not freezing your butt off haha.

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Blog 49

             I am so glad that there are no classes tomorrow. I can’t even describe how excited I am to have a break. I have needed a break for a while now and it is nice to finally get one. I scheduled today and I got all my classes scheduled except for Math 153. It was full and I am on the waiting list. I am really hoping that a spot opens up for me. Math is really important for my major and it will put me behind if I can’t take it this quarter. I also do not want to take a quarter off of math because it is so hard to get back into. All I can do is just keep my fingers crossed. Well Friday will be a short day and I am planning on going to my high school’s playoff game again this weekend. They are playing at Troy High School which is a little over an hour from where I live. I actually have an aunt that lives in Troy that I haven’t seen in quite a while. She is probably the sweetest lady you could ever meet. Well tomorrow might be a day off from classes but there is still a lot for me to do. I really want to get a start on some assignments for my classes and I want to study for my math exam, which is on Monday. Hopefully I will be able to balance my studying and my relaxing. I just wish we had Friday off too so I could just take the entire day off tomorrow but that really isn’t an option. Well that’s my 250 and I hope everyone enjoys their day off!

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Blog 48


          I cannot wait until tomorrow is over! It is going to be nice to not have class on Thursday! That is really all that I am thinking about right now. Too bad we didn’t have Friday off too but I’m not complaining. I really cannot think of anything interesting to write about. I guess I’ll just be random. I am watching Everybody Loves Raymond right now and it is probably my favorite show. It is such a funny show. I don’t know if anyone else watches it but if you like comedy you would like it. I also really like this weather right now and the rest of the week it is supposed to get close to 70. It was nice to be able to wear shorts today. A lot of people were looking at me like I was crazy earlier today but I thought it was warm enough in the afternoon for shorts. It was a little chilly in the morning but I a man, I can handle it haha. It is really nice not having to bundle up to walk around campus. I would be happy if it stayed in the 70s year round but we know that doesn’t happen in Ohio. It is warm this week so it will probably be really cold next week. It always seems crazy to me how much Ohio’s weather can change in such a short period of time. However I did like last winter because we got a lot of snow and I really like snow. Too bad this year I won’t be having snow days like last year in high school. In high school I was always excited when it was supposed to snow because of that chance that school could be canceled.

Monday, November 8, 2010

Blog 47

         Well I just finished my Common Place paper and I am pretty happy with it. I can’t remember if we are supposed to print out a copy for class. I think we are so I still need to print a copy out. I had an Econ exam today and it was pretty easy. I studied a lot for it and I think I did pretty well on it. Today was a really nice day outside. It was actually pretty warm outside. It was nice not freezing my butt off walking to my classes. I heard it is supposed to be pretty warm out all week. I am so glad because I am just not ready for the cold weather yet. Time changed on Sunday night and it was nice to get the extra hour of sleep but it gets dark at like 5:30 now. I hate how early it gets dark now. I wish daylight savings time was year round. I much rather have it become light out later than for it to be dark at 5. I am really looking forward to Thursday. We don’t have class at all and it is supposed to be up to like 65 on Thursday. I have always lived in the country so I like to be outside a lot. I also can’t wait to sleep in on Thursday. It will be nice to catch up on some sleep before the weekend. It does kind of suck because I have to do some online lecture thing for one of my classes but I guess it won’t be that bad. I am hoping to get some schoolwork done on Thursday too but there is no guarantee that will happen. I hope it will but I am not going to get my hopes up.  

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Blog 46

            Today wasn’t a very exciting day for me. I went out to eat with my family this afternoon after church and that was fun. We went to Texas Roadhouse and it was really good. I did a lot of studying for my midterm tomorrow and I think I am pretty good to go. Well I don’t know what else to talk about so I’ll talk about how much I like roller coasters. For our senior trip last year my class went to Cedar Point and it was a blast. It was the first time I have been there in a couple years and I had so much fun. I love riding roller coasters. I think my top two roller coasters from Cedar Point were the Millennium Force, The Maverick, and The Raptor. I rode the Dragster and I’m not going to lie, it was pretty lame. We stood in line for like 2 hours for a 15 second ride. Sure it was exciting to go so fast but you go up a hill and back down and you are done. It seems like a waste to wait in line that long for a ride that short. I don’t really like the swinging ships and all that there though. I just like to ride the roller coasters. The worst part of riding a roller coaster is the climb to the top. I hate it so much. You are going so slow and the anticipation is just killer. I hate looking over the edge and seeing how high up you are but once you start down the hill you forget all about that. I just like the thrill of the roller coasters. I pretty much rode every roller coaster there that day except for the one where you have to stand up. That one didn’t seem fun but I rode the three I mentioned earlier twice. I am hoping to take another trip up there next summer.

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Blog 45

             Well today seemed like it went really fast. I am so tired and I haven’t gotten any sleep since last weekend. I can barely stay awake and I came home early tonight and I think I am just going to go to bed. College has really changed my sleeping schedule a lot. There is just so much to do and so little time. It seems like I am getting no sleep all week and find myself trying to catch up on the weekend. I have an exam on Monday so I will be doing a lot of studying tomorrow. I went to my high school’s football game last night and it snowed during the game! I had like 5 layers on and I stayed pretty warm until the 4th quarter. It was just the first round of the playoffs and we were up by a lot so we left a little early. It seems so weird to have to watch the games in the stands this year and not being on the field during the game. I have really missed playing football this year. I had so much fun over the four years I played it was a great experience. I still remember how nervous I was starting my first varsity game. It was a huge rush. But after the first couple plays you don’t even think about it even more. By my senior year the nerves didn’t really bother me anymore. My senior year was a lot of fun but I missed a couple games because of a sprained ankle. That sucked but it was still a lot of fun.

Friday, November 5, 2010

Blog 44


            Well my Title for my paper was Pete Rose: In or Out. I completely made it up as I was writing it on the board and at first I thought it was pretty bad. But in the feedback I got mixed results. It was like half 10s and half like 1s. It seemed liked if people knew what I was referring to they liked it. I am going to keep it for now but let me know what you think of it.
            Is Pete Rose a Hall of Fame player or a Hall of Fame Cheater? Pete Rose was one of the greatest players to ever play the game of Baseball. In his 24 year career he had over 4,000 hits, 1300 RBI’s, and 200 stolen bases in his career. Not only that but he also has 160 homeruns and a career batting average of .303. He won three World Series Rings, one MVP Award, two Gold Gloves, and made 17 All-Star appearances at 5 different positions. All of Pete Rose’s amazing accomplishment ends up being overlooked because of the one mistake that he made. He is seen as a cheater because he bet on games when he was the manager of the Cincinnati Reds.. That is the one and only reason why he is not in the Hall of Fame. Debates about whether Pete Rose should be in the Hall of Fame are still going on today. Pete Rose was one of the greatest players to ever play the game and he made a mistake after his playing career was over. His mistake did not change his playing stats and he should be in the Hall of Fame. 

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Blog 43

           Today is taking forever. I hate Thursday so much. I hate 4 classes on Thursday and it seems like it is never going to end. The good thing is that all was a couple Thursday s off this quarter. We have next Thursday off and I am so looking forward to it. I will get to sleep in and just relax the whole day. Then we have the Thursday of Thanksgiving off. I love Thanksgiving because of all the food. All of the food is so good and it is fun getting together with my family. My dad’s side of the family is pretty crazy and it is always a good time. We always play Euchre and it always get pretty intense. Some of us, including me know how to stack the deck so we always cut the deck before we deal. I think Euchre is a really fun card game to play. A lot of people don’t know how to play and they should all learn how. I also liked to play Monopoly but no one really ever wants to play with me. They all say it takes too long but we will normally play on Thanksgiving. My family eats and then we just play games the rest of the day. It is a lot of fun and I am looking forward to it. Plus we will have a much needed break from school, so I am really looking forward to it. Well that’s my 250 words for the day. 

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Blog 42

       Well today I wrote my Commonplace paper. I am hoping that I did everything correctly but it seems pretty open so I think that I did. I also just realized that in one week tomorrow we don’t have class. I think that it is Veterans Day and we don’t have any classes. I am really looking forward to it. I am also really glad that it is on a Thursday because my Thursdays suck. I have 4 classes on Thursday and it always takes forever. I start at 9:30 and I’m not done until 5:18. It is awful. I do have like an hour between each class so I do get a little break but it is still pretty bad. I am looking forward to the weekend but I have an exam on Monday so I am going to have to do a lot of studying over the weekend. Actually I have an exam the next two Mondays so I will have to get my studying done over the weekend. I never want to do school work over the weekend but I always have to now. In high school I pretty much never had to do homework on the weekends but I have had to every weekend so far. I get out early on Fridays so I wish I could motivate myself to just get all of it done on Friday so I don’t have to worry about it the rest of the weekend. That never happens though. I always wait until Sunday. Well that’s 250 words so I am done. 

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Blog 41

      It was really nice not having class today! I got done at 10:18 today and it was so nice. I was hoping to get a lot of work done today but that didn’t work out that well. I did get a couple assignments done but no more than I would have gotten done if we had class. But that’s okay because it was really nice to have a little break. Even though I didn’t get as much homework done as I would have liked to, I did take a much needed nap! I took about an hour nap this afternoon and it was awesome. I can’t remember the last time that I got to take a nap. It was nice to take a nap but it took a while to get motivated to do some homework after that. I was actually hoping to get the entire weeks homework out of the way but I did get a decent amount of it done. I just wish I wasn’t such a procrastinator. Well I was watching the news earlier today and there is actually a chance of snow of Friday! I couldn’t believe it. It just seems like it was in the 90’s last week. I sure hope it doesn’t snow because I am not ready for the cold weather yet. I do like snow but I just don’t like the cold. I wish it could snow but still be warm outside. I guess I don’t mind the cold as much if it snows. And I have realized that Christmas is not even two months away! Time is going by so quickly!

Monday, November 1, 2010

Blog 40

         I am so glad that there is no class tomorrow. It seems like other people’s classes get cancelled but never mine. This my first class that has got cancelled and I am so glad. Tomorrow I have class from 9:30 to 10:18 and I am done for the day. It is probably going to be the best day. I am hoping to get most if my word done for the week so I can take an easy the rest of the week. I am also thinking a nap would be great tomorrow but I guess we will see how it works out. Yesterday I was working pretty hard on Webwork 5 to only find out it isn’t due this week. I am glad because I have a pretty good start on it. This webwork is only 15 problems that is good but that probably means they are extremely hard. This week isn’t near as busy as last week was for me. It feels so good not to have a million things to do this week. I just saw a commercial for the Due Date movie and it looks pretty funny. Alan for the Hangover is in it so it has to be funny. I have to say the Hangover was hilarious. It seems weird it came out over a year and a half ago. I haven’t watched it in a while and I think I should watch it again sometime. I really like seeing movies. I also pretty much like all types of movies except horror movies. I just think they are stupid but the Hangover was one of my favorite comedies

Sunday, October 31, 2010

Blog 39

        I am really tired. I didn’t get too much sleep last night and I have been sick all day. I hate having a cold, it is so annoying. Hopefully it goes away soon but I guess I’ll just have to suffer the next couple days. I watched the Bengals today and they lost again, to the Dolphins! What is up with them this year. They were supposed to be good this year and they are doing awful. They are starting to look like the Browns. I don’t know if anyone else is a Bengal’s fan but I think it is time for Marvin Lewis and Carson Palmer to go. I do like the Bengals but I’m not a huge NFL fan. I normally watch the Bengals every week and maybe watch parts of some of the other games. College Football is so much better than the NFL. Actually pretty much all college sports are better than pro sports because in college you are playing for your school and in the pros you are playing for money. I think pro players don’t even care if they win or lose; all they care about is getting paid the big bucks. I always hate when a player will miss practices or even games because they want more money. I mean come on, you already make way too much money in the first place. That is really why I am not too much into pro sports. It is all about the money and it just makes me not like it. College sports is so much better in my opinion. 

Saturday, October 30, 2010

Blog 38

       Today was a pretty busy day. I had a lot to do today like watch football all day! Today I just needed a break so I pretty much just watched football all day. Then my best friend from high school came home this weekend so I just got back from his house. We just watched the Ohio State Game at his house with some other friends and just chilled. He goes to Toledo so he does come home every couple weeks. I was actually strongly considering Toledo in my college hunt last year. They have a really nice campus but off campus isn’t so nice. If I wouldn’t have gotten onto Main Campus then I would be going to Toledo.  There is just so many bonuses going to Ohio State, like football tickets. Plus Toledo gets colder a lot earlier than here and I’m not a big fan of cold weather. I like snow but just not the cold weather. Wow I just realized how random this blog is. Probably because it is 2 am on Saturday night. I really wish we didn’t have to do blogs on Saturday and Sunday. I just don’t think we should have assignments on the weekend because it is not a school day. The blogs aren’t really that bad, it is just a hassle to have to do over the weekend. I just the weekend would go so fast! Every weekend goes so fast. I guess this week won’t seem as long with not having class on Tuesday, which I am really looking forward to. Well that’s 250 words!

Friday, October 29, 2010

Blog 37


       Well today’s blog is about anything and I don’t really know what to talk about. I am so glad it is the weekend. This has been a very busy week and it feels good to have some free time. I had a math exam today and I am pretty sure I did terrible on it. I understand how to do everything and then the exam is so different. That and I always feel rushed and make stupid little mistakes. So I am pretty sure I did terrible on the exam. Well tonight I went to my high school’s football game at St. Charles. Our high school football team has been doing really well this year and they finished the regular season with a 9 and 1 record. They beat St. Charles by a couple tds and the only game we lost was by 1. They have had a pretty tough schedule this year but they have been playing really well. I have been to a lot of their games and I think they can go pretty far in the playoffs. We went to the State Championship game my freshman year and it was an awesome experience. Every year in the playoffs we have lost to the eventually state champion. Although our baseball team went 34 and 0 last year and won the State Championship. I come from a small school and we maybe have 5 state championships so it was really cool we won one my senior year. Well I am really excited to not have class on Tuesday but I have 250 words so I’ all done. 

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Blog 36


         What if you were the greatest and something but you could not be acknowledged for it? What if you worked so hard to achieve your goal but you couldn’t get the acknowledgement of it because you made one mistake. You make one mistake and everyone seems to forget your great accomplishment. Wouldn’t you want to be forgiven for your 1 mistake? Don’t you think you would deserve a second changes and wouldn’t you want the recognition you deserve?

            When I was in High School I worked really hard in my classes and I always got good grades. I was the Salutatorian of my class but I wasn’t really happy with that. With all the hard work I put in I wanted to be recognized as the Valedictorian. That was my goal all through high school but I slipped up one time. I got an A- in my sophomore English class. All the hard work I did and I didn’t even get the Valedictorian spot. I got all A’s all through high school and that one A- I got destroyed my chances at the number one spot. I finished with a 3.97 GPA and I was just .03 short of the number one spot. I wanted to be recognized as the Valedictorian but I made one mistake and I wasn’t recognized in that spot.

            I don’t really like either one of these but I had to do them for this blog but I couldn’t really think of much for this so I’m not planning on using these in my paper.
            

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Blog 35

        Today one of the articles I read on Commonplace was about Coke Zero. The title of the article was, Coke Zero, The Deadliest Beverage… or So They Say. I decided to read this article because it sounded interesting and I am someone who drinks a moderate amount of Coke. I have heard all this stuff about how pop is terrible for you and it is pretty much poison. I have heard this a lot but this article was about exactly that. The people who wrote the article went down the list of ingredients on a Coke Zero bottle and talked a little about each ingredient. The author did a good deal of research and was saying how all the ingredients in the Coke are perfectly safe. All the research was backed up by the FDA and was really convincing proof. The article was basically describing the ingredients in Coke and saying how they are actually not bad for you. Although they even said they aren’t saying that it isn’t necessarily good for you but it is not as harmful as everyone says. If you drink pop in moderation it will not affect your health. I do drink pop but not very often so it was good to see that the ingredients aren’t actually bad for you and that it is okay drink pop in moderation. For my second article I read, Its our Illegal Right. It was about how college student should be able to download music for free. I didn’t really find this article all this interesting. Most people already download all their music for free anyway so  I didn’t really like the article. 

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Blog 34

         Well today helped me figure out what I am planning on doing for the Commonplace paper. My topic is greed and there are so many things to choose from for this topic. I decided to write about Pete Rose. I was going to use him in my analytical paper but after changing some things, his story doesn’t really fit so I am going to use it now. I really like sports and baseball so this will be pretty easy for me to write. The only problem I thought I would have with this topic was it being timely but it can be seen as timely. Even thought he was caught gambling on games over 20 years ago the argument for why he should or should not be in the Hall of Fame still goes on today. I personally think he should be voted in because he was one of the greatest players to play baseball and he gambled on games when he was a manager. I think he should be in the Hall of Fame because of his amazing stats and he shouldn’t be held out because of something he did after his playing career was over. His stats are even more unbelievable because he did all of this before the steroid era in baseball. Barry Bonds may have the most homeruns but he admitted to using steroids. Same thing for other players like Alex Rodriguez who have been accused of using steroids but they will most likely be in the Hall of Fame someday. If they still can be in the Hall of Fame when the cheated in their playing years then why shouldn’t Pete Rose because he cheated after his playing career was over. 

Monday, October 25, 2010

Blog 33

          Well today seemed like it was never going to end. I went to the Math 152 project workshop tonight and it was from 5:30 to 7:30 and I could not wait to get out of there. Hopefully I got all of the answers right but I wouldn’t know because the webworks have been down all night. Which is not only bad for the webwork project but I only have like half of webwork 4 done and I can’t work on it. So frustrating! Well I have a Math quiz tomorrow but I don’t think that it will be too bad but you never know. It just seems like all of my classes have something big going on this week and I have so much to do. Although with all these things keeping me busy the week seems to fly by which is good and bad at the same time. It is good because the weekend seems to come faster but it means that the due dates of everything this week is closer. Well I think we are starting on our next paper or something in English tomorrow and I am totally looking forward to that… not. I hate everything about Commonplace and our paper has something to do with that and I am not looking forward to that. I am hearing that we are supposed to have some really strong winds tomorrow so I am hoping it knocks the electric out and classes get cancelled. That would be awesome but I am not getting my hopes up at all. Well time to study for tomorrow’s math quiz.

Sunday, October 24, 2010

Blog 32

         Well once again the weekend went way to fast and its back to class tomorrow. School is keeping me so busy and this is probably going to be the busiest week of all so far. We had my mom’s 50th birthday party today and it was fun to see all my family. We always play games when we get together and our games of Euchre get pretty intense. It is always a fun time to get together with my family so that was fun but I didn’t get much homework done today. Other than that I don’t know what to talk about. I guess I could share the code I got for one of my comments. I left a comment and my security code was vainga. When I first saw it I thought it spelled another word but after I looked at it closer is saw that it wasn’t. I found it to be pretty funny and I thought I would share it. I thought blogger was family friendly but maybe not. Well Ohio State got back on the right track by beating Purdue this weekend. One of my teammates from my high school football team is on Purdue’s team. He is a freshman offensive lineman and he is redshirting this year. The first string lineman got hurt in the off season and he could have actually started this year but he wanted to take a red shirt year to get stronger and some experience. It was kind of fun to rub it in that Ohio State was dominating but it was cool to see him again. Well I’m over 250 words so I’m done. 

Saturday, October 23, 2010

Blog 31

            Well this is another blog about anything and I don’t really know what to talk about. I think I will talk about my dogs. My family has two German Shepherd dogs. Their names are Maddie and Tressel. Maddie is 5 years old and she is a bicolor German Shepherd. Tressel is almost 2 years old now and he is an all black German Shepherd. They are both huge and most people are really afraid of them. Maddie is around 90 pounds and Tressel is a little over 100 pounds. Maddie and Tressel are really protective  but they are also really friendly. Maddie is older and she loves to be petted and Tressel is still a puppy and he loves to play. Pretty much anytime you see Tressel he has a toy in his mouth and he is ready to play. We live out in the country so they both have plenty of room to run around. My sister and her husband have 2 Yorkies and they stay at our house every once in a while. It is always funny when the little dogs act like they are the bosses of the big dogs. One of my sister’s dogs is 16 pounds and the other is about 10 and they like to attack the big dogs for some reason. It always is funny when they think they can take on the big dogs but of course the big dogs win every time. We have always had a German Shepherd dog and this is the first time we have two at the same time. They are defiantly my favorite kind of dog and I will probably always have a German Shepherd dog.

Friday, October 22, 2010

Blog 30

           Well another week is done and I was so ready for the weekend. I was going to write about a funny code I got when I made a comment but I think Ill save that one for next time. The week was a really busy week and I realized that next week is going to be even busier. Its mostly in math where we have a paper homework, a webwork, a quiz, an exam, and the project thing all this week. Not to mention I still have to work on my final draft. Hopefully I can get a head start and get some of those things done this weekend but I tend to procrastinate so I don’t know how that will work out. Well tomorrow I have the Ohio State game in the morning against Purdue and one of my friends from High School is actually on Purdue’s football team so that is pretty cool but of course I’m still going to root for my Buckeyes. Then Sunday we are having a 50th birthday party for my mom. That will be fn but Sunday is normally the day where I get a head start on my homework so it looks like I need to work extra hard on Sunday. I am a little nervous for my math exam on Friday so I want to start studying for that asap. Needless to say I could have done better on my first math exam so I am planning to start studying early to make sure I can get the best grade I can. So wish me luck!

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Blog 29


         The biggest problem I am having with my paper is coming up with my thesis and making my argument strong enough. After the meeting yesterday I think I have a better idea of how I am going to get all of that done. The thesis is the biggest problem for me. I am doing Jayne’s greed from the Firefly episodes. I think I have a really good real world connection with the stock market and I still need to do some more research about all that. I am doing the Ariel episode and I need to make sure I get the analysis of that cleared up and I should be pretty good from there. I have came up with a couple thesis that haven’t been good enough but I think I have an idea of how to come up with a better one. I have all the ideas for the paper body but now I just need to figure out how to tie it all together and get my thesis done. I just need to make sure my thesis isn’t too general and that is the problem I have been having. I have been using words like everyone and everyday which is really hard to prove. I think I have got that part worked out but I still have to figure out how to get it worded and everything. I think it would be better if I just write the body of the paper and then come up with the thesis. Once I know what is all going to be in my paper then the thesis should come along better. 

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Blog 28

           Well from everyone’s comments it seem that pretty much everyone hates math 152. I’m thinking our English class just needs to make their own study group. That would be sweet. I finally finished the webwork and by finished I mean most of it. This webwork was really hard and I couldn’t figure of like 3 of them so I just gave up. It’s not good to give up but after trying the problems like 25 times, it is acceptable. Tomorrow is Thursday and that is my least favorite day of the week. I have four classes on Thursday and it always seems like time does not move. I have an hour break in between each class so I don’t get much time off in between each one. The only good thing about Thursday is that the next day is Friday and I’m done with class by noon. Except this weekend I get the privilege to work on this paper we are supposed to be writing. So I am totally looking forward to that….not. So far this year I have been trying out some food places around campus and I have found some good ones. But I find myself eating the same thing too often so if anyone has any suggestions on good places to eat please let me know. That was completely random but I still haven’t made my 250 words yet. I thought the blogs about anything were going to be easier but I have no idea what to write about. Although it is interesting reading about some of the stories and other things people have been blogging about lately so I guess it isn’t that bad.  

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Blog 27

              Well I am still working on the math webwork and it is kicking my butt. This one has been really hard and I need to get some help on it. Some of you hate having to do these blogs but I hate webworks a billion times worse. It wouldn’t be so bad if the problems were easier but they aren’t. It is time to get some help. Today was a pretty boring day and there isn’t much to talk about. Last week on Friday I played racquetball with my brother and it was so much fun.  I haven’t played in years and it just fun to play. We played for like 2 hours until I had to go to my second class on Friday. So after the class I got up and I was sore! I never thought it was possible to get sore playing racquetball but I guess I was wrong. My legs were stiff from running and my arm and shoulder were sore from swinging the racquet. It was a lot of fun and I think we are going to play again this Friday as long as I don’t have too much homework to do. He did beat me 4 games to 3 so I will have to get my revenge the next time we play. If you are looking for something to do racquetball is a lot of fun and something that is pretty easy to do. So if you are thinking about trying it, you definitely should. That is more than 250 words so that means  I am done until tomorrow. 

Monday, October 18, 2010

Blog 26

           One day down and four left until the weekend. Had my first economics exam and it was pretty easy. I did a lot of studying and I thought the whole exam was simple. I just finished watching the new episode of House. I just randomly watched House one night when it was in it’s first season and I have watched it ever since. Normally I don’t really like doctor shows but for some reason I like it. I think the mystery of all the episodes is what makes me like and it is pretty funny too which I like. I have been working on my math 152 webwork for the last couple hours and I’m still only like half way done. Webworks are the biggest pain in the butt ever. I still need to work on that a little while and read chapter 3 of Commonplace before I call it a night. Well I guess it is funny story time. So my junior year during our football 2-a-days we were doing this passing drill. We would run 10 yards and back, 20 and back, and 30 and back. Then every 5 yards a person was standing and the quarter back would throw in between one of the sets of people to the receiver. It was kind of like a distraction drill for the receiver. Well one of my teammates was doing the drill and he was a shrimp that never played and our quarter back threw it a little high and the receiver completely missed the ball and hit one of our receiver coaches right in the crotch. Now our quarterback threw extremely hard and I had the perfect view of it. It hit him square in his crotch and we all hit the ground laughing. Our head coach was over with us and he was laughing pretty hard too. So our training came over and got him some ice to put on it haha. I have some funny stories from football and I’ll probably write about some others in my other blogs.

Sunday, October 17, 2010

Blog 25

            Where did the weekend go? I always look forward to the weekend and it always goes so fast. I went to church this morning and I have been doing homework for the most part today. I have been working on my math webwork and been studying for my economics exam tomorrow. I’m not too worried about the exam tomorrow because it seems to be pretty easy stuff for me. The math webwork is pretty hard and it takes a lot of my time. So since I have nothing to write about I thought I would share a hilarious commercial I saw several weeks ago. I was an Axe commercial and it called wash your balls. When I saw it on TV I was shocked that it was allowed to be on TV. I have only seen the whole version on TV one time and I haven’t seen it since. I did watch the commercial again on youtube and it was just as funny the second time. If you want to watch it go to youtube and look up Axe Wash Your Balls commercial. If you like funny commercials I would take a look at it. I am one of those people who hate commercials but I actually enjoyed that one. I am kind of disappointed with the Super Bowl commercials over the last couple years. That was one of the best parts of the Super Bowl and now with all the rules and regulations, they aren’t even funny anymore. There are a couple that are funny but they are nothing like the used to be. Well, back to my studying.  

Saturday, October 16, 2010

Blog 24

           Well I am watching to OSU game and we are getting completely dominated. I am pretty pissed to put it lightly. Well we can go ahead and say bye bye to that National Championship. At least we got to be number one for one game. Its half time and we are lucky to not be down by more. Who knows Ohio State could pull it off but that is a long shot. I knew this would happen and it is so frustrating. Well I guess there is always next year? Other than this terrible game  I don’t know what else to write about. This weekend is going so fast and I don’t want to go back to school on Monday. Man I didn’t think writing 250 words would be that hard. I am just so mad I can’t think of anything to write about other than how terrible Ohio State is playing. Michigan lost for the second week in a row, which makes me happy. Denard Robinson can’t do anything when he plays a team with a defense and he’s probably the biggest wimp in college football. He has gotten hurt every game so far, be a man Denard. Well the Bengals play tomorrow but they will probably lose again cause they are sucking it up again this year. So who is going to be number one after OSU gets done sucking? Boise State will end up being in the top two which makes me really mad since they play in the worst conference in the nation. They play one good team a year and they are set. I wish Boise State would play a decent team for once and see how they do then.

Friday, October 15, 2010

Blog 23

         Well it is the weekend and I am glad for a little break from all the school work. The first couple weeks of college haven’t been too bad so far. All my classes are fairly easy except for my math class. I am in math 152 and it has been a challenging class so far. I can’t believe that we are getting ready to schedule classes for the winter already. It seems like everything has been going so fast> I have heard that college goes even faster than high school and I can see why now. I am looking for some interesting GEC classes that I can take over the next couple years. If anyone has any suggestions feel free to let me know. I am pretty excited for the OSU football game tomorrow. Wisconsin is a good team and Camp Randle is a hard place to play but we are the number one team in college football so we can handle it. I think it will be a good game but of course the Bucks are going to come out on top. I have some really high hopes for the football team and I am hoping Tressel can get his second National Championship with the Bucks this year. But that is still a long ways away and we have some tough games coming up. Well I don’t know what else to talk about. I really thought that the anything blogs would be easier but its hard to come up with stuff to write about. I look forward to reading what the rest of you write in your blogs over the next couple days. 

Thursday, October 14, 2010

Blog 22

          In the Firefly series we see that Jayne’s greed occurring throughout the different episodes. His greed has made him make bad decisions throughout the series but luckily other crewmember have been smart enough to not listen to him. In The Train Job episode he wanted to leave behind Mal and Zoe to finish the job. He would rather risk their lives and get paid than go and look for them. Luckily the rest of the crew refused that but the crew can’t save him every time. I am doing my paper on the Ariel episode and he ends up turning Simon and River in to the Alliance for money. No one knew what his plan so no one could save him from making the mistake. He turned in two of his crewmembers so that he could make some money and we see things like this everyday. For my real world connections I talked about Pete Rose and how he made bet on baseball. Pete Rose was a professional baseball player who already had unreal amounts of money but he bet on baseball because he wanted more. He did that over 20 years ago and it still haunts him until today. You can also connect it to the recent economic downturn. Greedy Wall Street investors were a big contributor to the recent economic decline. They are both articles about how a person’s greed can affect them and people around them. I think that they are both pretty good examples and I hope it helps support my argument. 

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Blog 21

          Pete Rose was one of the greatest baseball players to ever play the game. He played in the Major League for 24 years and racked up unbelievable stats. He had over 4,000 hits, 1300 RBI’s, and 200 stolen bases. Not only that but he also has 160 homeruns and a career batting average of .303.  He has won three World Series rings, one MVP Award, two Gold Gloves, and made seventeen All-Star appearances at five different positions. With stats like that how can he not be in the Hall of Fame? There is a simple explanation for that; when he was the manager of the Cincinnati Reds, he bet on games. He gambled on baseball and even though he never bet against the Reds, it is still against MLB rules. He made one mistake and that alone is what is keeping him out of the Baseball Hall of Fame. Jeffery Standen, aka The Sports Law Professor, showed just how big the mistake was when he said,” There are 4,256 reasons to vote Pete Rose into baseball’s Hall of Fame. There is one reason to keep him out.”(Standen, 2010) This quote means exactly what it says; he is not in the Hall of Fame for one reason. This story helps prove that a person’s greed will affect them in someway. His greed not only affects him but it also affects many other people. Now people don’t see him as the greatest baseball player of all time but as a cheater and as a gambler. He did so many great things but the one bad thing he did is what he will be remembered by. Pete Rose made one mistake and that mistake has and will continue to haunt him for the rest of his life. It is so crazy how one greedy decision can affect you the rest of your life. 

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Blog 20


          Greed is something that can take over a person in no time. A person’s greed can cause them to make irrational decisions that end up effect no only them but everyone around them. This couldn’t be truer in Wall Street. A person’s greed can cause harm to a couple people and even to the entire nation. Laura L. Hansen, that has a PhD in sociology, couldn’t have made this idea anymore clear when she said,” One of the most popular explanations of the contemporary financial crisis with its disastrous social and economic consequences is personal greed, a “selfish” pursuit of “self-interest” that has no recognition of others at its boundaries or limits and involves no connection between satisfaction and further pursuit of attainment.” (Hansen, 2010)This is proof that investors in the stock market can cause harm to the entire nation. This is important because greed has been a contributing factor to the recent financial crisis. This seems so crazy that a couple individuals can cause the entire nation harm. This helps prove my point that greed not only affects the person but everyone around them. This may be an extreme case on how it affects everyone in someway, but it is sadly true. It is just alarming how a few bad apples on Wall Street can cause so much havoc. It is a scary fact and I hope that there are steps to take to change this fact. Something has to be done or Wall Street greed will lead to more problems down the road.